Posted by: universitymindlab | July 18, 2008

Three Outcomes to SuperYou!

Three Outcomes to SuperYou!

By Dr. Bakari Akil II

Imagine waking up one morning and suddenly realizing that there was something unique about you that hadn’t existed the day before. So different that, fundamentally, you weren’t the same person. Perhaps it is a talent or skill, your physical appearance or a personality trait such as humor, charm or an outgoing personality.

Do me a favor. Think of an outcome (goal) that if you really focused on achieving it, it would change how you view yourself and perhaps how the world views you. It can be something  you were puting off, have always dreamed of doing, or something you think you couldn’t possibly do (but could if you really tried). Jack Canfield, author of “The Success Principles” describes these types of goals using a football metaphor. It is the difference between goals that will get you 5 or 10 yards and goals that are like the ‘long bomb’ that score touchdowns, turns games around or end games.

I’m talking about goals that, if you could achieve them, could transform your life, but in a good way. I challenge you to try this. Think about 3 outcomes that if you achieved them could change your life for the better. They can be short-term, mid-range or long-term outcomes.

My three goals were long term and I’m still working on two of them. They were:

1. Obtain a Ph.D.

2. Blackbelt in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu (see JiuJitsu365); and

3. Start a clothing lifestyle line (yes, a clothing line!)

I obtained the Ph.D. so I have two more to go before I create another list. And as you can see from my list, whatever outcome that would make you feel like the SuperYou doesn’t have to make sense to anyone else. It’s according to your tastes and desires.

Here are some examples to set your mind churning:

Learn CPR – Obtain a whole new Wardrobe – Lose 20 to 30 pounds – Take up a new Sport (and learn how to play well) – Learn Gymnastics – Change Careers – Go back to School – Write Comedy – Become a Mentor

Whatever it is, have fun.  You can even just choose one life altering goal. Just pour your all into it and experience a new future.

Salud!!

If this post has caused excitement in you, leave a comment. It is always great to read comments.

Responses

  1. Three outcomes to super you. What an enlightening article. All week I have had one subject on my mind and that is losing weight. I did not know where to start. I researched information on the internet about weight loss clinics which includes weight watchers and metabolic research centers. But I have been there and done that, and don’t want to do it again. However, while out this morning during my field ministry, I found a book, Eat to Live by Dr. Joel Fuhrman. You know this is what I needed to get started losing weight the correct way. After reading you article, Three Outcomes to SuperYou, it help me to realize that I needed to set a goal and at this time only one because I really want to achieve this goal of weight loss for my health and personal appearance for accomplishment for a life time. Working on weight loss has become a life time goal for me. I don’t want it to consume me so taking your advise would bring about a change in my life and how I view myself. I want to be able to say I did it and still be doing it 3 years from now with success. Of course, as I meet this challenge I can incorporate other goals I can work on along the way. Thanks Doc for the inspirational thoughts!!!!!!

  2. Thank you for your inspirational comments. I know you will do well with your new plan…

  3. […] you enjoyed this article you may also enjoy: Three Outcomes to Super You! Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Mid-term goals doneExecution plan for your […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

