Posted by: universitymindlab | August 16, 2008

Your Meditative Moment

Your Meditative Moment

By Bakari Akil II, Ph.D.

It can be any time of the day and a place of your choosing. Many people choose an early time in the morning. I prefer later in the day. My time, place and meditative action is a hot steaming bath, usually in the afternoon or evening. After a long day, a grueling session of my passion Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, or for no reason at all, it is my moment to wind down and relax. I use this time to reflect and think about anything I wish without having other stimuli competing for my attention.

Our days are often filled with activities that require us to concentrate on every other issue except our own. However, it is important for us to have a quiet time where we can do some of the following activities:

Meditate to relieve tension or stress

Devote thought to an issue, problem or concern

Daydream

Visualize our future

Plan our next day; or just

Enjoy private and personal time

It is a very rewarding habit to cultivate. I have used my own personal meditative moment (long hot baths) since I was a teenager and the dividends have been immeasurable. I have read countless books, thought through a number of issues and have come up with numerous plans for my future. My meditative moment also puts me in a good mood for the rest of the day.

Although it is common for me to spend an hour in my meditative moment (and two is not out of the question), you don’t have to spend nearly as much time. However, choosing some activity such as meditation, yoga, or sitting in a quiet room can help you clarify your thoughts, gain insights, set yourself on the proper path and help you grow in ways that routine day to day activities don’t allow.

Have fun….

If this post has provided inspiration or motivation, leave a note. I am always glad to hear from you. Also, you are welcome to share how you take time out in the day to meditate or reflect.

Responses

  1. Thanks for your comment. I haven’t read it yet but I definitely will.
    If you’re ever around Gainesville this year and you want to train, just let me know and I’ll get you in to practice with the UF Judo Club.

  2. Dr. Akil,

    Thank you for your comment and compliment on my blog. I work very hard to provide good information to readers based on my own journey.

    I’m most thankful, however, that your comment led me to your blog. Your work sounds absolutely intriguing. I’ve read and been greatly edified by several of your posts.

    I look forward to reading and learning more.

  3. Webster,

    Thanks for the invite!

    I once participated in a Judo tournament at UF a long time ago (I only achieved a green belt in Judo).
    I went 2-2 for the day.

  4. Mr. Davis,

    I appreciate your comments as well and I am glad I found your website.

  5. I enjoyed reading meditative moment. It makes you think about the importance of meditation and how it can add a calmness to your day if you pursue meditation. Thanks.

    I enjoyed the video.

  6. Thank you.

    I am glad that you enjoyed the article and the video… We will be adding many more videos in the future.


Leave a Reply

Categories

