Posted by: universitymindlab | January 28, 2009

Try and Relax….

Try and Relax

By Bakari Akil II, Ph.D.

Relaxing and enjoying the moment is a skill that has to be cultivated. It requires an intention to focus on your surroundings and to become captivated by your present situation. If done often enough it becomes a habit. Once mastered it becomes a personality trait.

As an ambitious person, it is easy to constantly think about the next big thing you are going to accomplish. Being successful takes commitment and without focus it is easy to stray from a disciplined path. However, we have to incorporate tension releasing activities and pleasurable forays into our lives.

As a professor, relaxation is a part of my lifestyle.  Many of the tasks that are required in my profession, I already do for fun, such as reading, writing and researching. Yet, I also strive for a balanced life and have other pursuits that I enjoy immensely like Brazilian Jiu-jitsu, tennis and bike riding. Even on my busiest days I incorporate some fun.

If you don’t have a business or career that allows for relaxation, try scheduling relaxing activities into your day in other ways. A good way to make sure you relax is to schedule a date or activity with another person so you can’t convince yourself to keep working. Setting up a golf  or knitting lesson or perhaps indulging in activities that you haven’t done since you were a teenager such as roller skating or videogames could be an option. Or commit to doing something you have never done before like indoor rock climbing, hiking or a Tai Chi or yoga class.

 It doesn’t matter what it is as long as you are able to clear your mind, have some fun and come back refreshed and ready to go.   

Responses

  1. Some good points. I especially like the idea of doing things I haven’t done in a while…I miss my video games. It’s so important to have a balanced life.

  2. Thanks Desi,

    I recently started playing video games again. I use research that states that video games increase visual intelligence and pattern recognition as an excuse.

    Even though I only play for a little while and sporadically it is still fun.

  3. You’re right about clearing your mind and making sure you have a little fun.

    Whilst I was at University, even with a big assignment due very soon I would jump at the chance to play a game of soccer or have a hit of tennis.

    Chances are I’d been staring at the stuff all day anyway and needed a break, even if it seemed like that just wasn’t important at all at the time.

    I always came back with a fresh mind. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

  4. Thanks Tristan,

    I’m glad I bumped into your site. It has an inspirational concept.


Leave a Reply

Categories

